Back to Article List

Draft amendment on the use of the term "vegan" published

Argentina

Sep 23, 2021

The project proposes to incorporate Article 229 to the Argentine Food Code, which will be worded as follows: The term "vegan" is reserved for products that do not contain ingredients of animal origin and/or their derivatives (including additives and coadjuvants). The labels of these products may include the legends "vegan", "vegan", "only with ingredients of vegetable origin", "100% vegetable", or other similar legends, provided that the manufacturers and importers certify to the Competent Health Authority within the framework of the product authorization that their processes and management system guarantee compliance with the above described and/or that these are validated by an officially recognized entity that verifies such condition.

For further information (in Spanish), click on the Link

Subscribe to our newsletter

The best industry insight in your mailbox