The UAE is a federation of seven emirates, Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm al-Quwain, Ras al-Khaimah and Fujairah. The UAE is a member of the Cooperation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf, commonly referred to as the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC). The GCC is a regional intergovernmental political and economic union consisting of Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the UAE. Food laws are established within the GCC Gulf Standardization Organization (GSO) and adopted by participating member countries. All GCC member states, including the UAE, have the authority to develop and institute national food legislation in addition to those formed within the GSO.

Local News

Get in touch