The recent advertisement of Burger Kingâs plant-based burger is regarded misleading towards vegetarians and vegans as it contains animal ingredients. Online ads on Facebook and Twitter promoted the Rebel Whopper, a plant based alternative to Burger Kingâs signature burger showing the statements â100% Whopper No Beefâ and âplant-based burgerâ. The post did include a notice that the burger was cooked alongside other meat products. However no mention was made that the included mayonnaise was egg-based.
The UK Advertising Standards Authority, also taking into account the green colours used, the timing of the ad coinciding with âveganuaryâ and showing the âVegetarian Butcherâ logo, found the advertisement to be misleading. The ads created the impression the burger was suitable for vegetarians and vegans while in reality it is not.
ASA Ruling on BKUK Group Ltd t/a Burger King (15 April 2020) - link